The Online Entrepreneurial Dream Ain’t ALL About The Money

Bron Martin
Listen To My Story
Published in
4 min readMar 6, 2016

Listen to this Story or Read it

In the online marketing / coaching world, the conversation has veered off course into overhyped promises of easy money and six figure success.

Not only are some of the claims outlandish, many are completely fabricated or at the very least fudged — with one income claim contradicting the next.

If we invoked the law of Pinocchio there’d be noses ten feet long from many Internet Gurus, Public Figures or Online Marketing “Ninjas”.

If we look at it away from the online world, what would you think if someone came over to your house for a dinner party, pushed back their chair and loudly proclaimed they earned six or seven figures last month, last week or last year. You’d think “so what”, immediately followed by the thought that they’re a bit of a twat and you won’t invite them back. You may also think why didn’t you bring a nicer bottle of wine then?

Why is the “I have the secret 89 step formula to make you eight figures” so ubiquitous?

Because people want success so badly that they’ll believe whatever a high ticket Coach promises them. Well as long as they back themselves enough to hand over their credit card right then and there. Oh, don’t have the money? Can you remortgage your house or sell one of your children? You don’t need to eat, you could do with losing a few pounds as you lie awake at night wondering how you’ll pay rent.

How bad do you want it? You DO want to be successful, don’t you?

If you’re reading this and your main promise to your BFFs (Business Forever Fans) is six/seven/eight figure success ESPECIALLY when you’re not yet at the lofty levels you’re promising, then your business strategy blows. And you’re an asshole.

It’s been SO done. It’s boring. It’s STALE and uninspired. And at times it’s downright fraudulent.

The world needs more people who are bravely putting themselves out there as their perfectly imperfect, weird and kooky selves. Not as a glossy, surface level clone of your online shero.

So with all this percolating in my head, when I came across my favourite poem, The Invitation, by Oriah Mountain Dreamer, it inspired my version.

Introducing…

The Entrepreneur

It doesn’t interest me if you make six or seven figures. I want to know what you ache for and if you dare to push yourself daily out of your safe little bubble.

It doesn’t interest me how many followers you have. I want to know if you’ll risk being unpopular to remain true to yourself, to your truth and the integrity of your life purpose.

It doesn’t interest me what qualifications you have or how big your last launch was. I want to know how you cope when you fall, how you pick yourself up when you’ve failed, if you remain open when doors close, when the day seems long and your dream feels out of reach.

I want to know if you can sit in discomfort and if you can stare down fear, doubt, the feeling of not good enough and still move forward, no matter how slowly your first steps may be.

I want to know if you can let in the joy. If you can embrace this wild rollercoaster ride of dream seeking while remaining true to your ideals and not running with the same same easy money herd.

I want to know if you can see through the stories and find your own truth. If you can stand in your power and shine your light for others to follow. I want to know if you can embrace your awesome, celebrate your quirks and risk putting yourself out there in your perfect imperfectness.

It doesn’t interest me where you live or how much money you have. I want to know if you can fall painfully and publicly. I want to know if you could lose everything and rise stronger to rebuild it again.

It doesn’t interest me who you know or where you’ve been published. I want to know if you’re generous in heart, soul and spirit to the dreamers and doers who follow in your footsteps. I want to know if you celebrate other’s achievements and if you can cheer from the sidelines even when you’re not in the game.

It doesn’t interest me what your latest Guru says. I want to know if you can stand on your own, think for yourself and plan your own life. If you can follow the breadcrumbs of success and claim all the credit as well as giving the credit away.

I want to know if you can sleep at night happy in the service that you’re providing each day. That you’re truthful and honest and giving your all for a dream that most couldn’t pursue.

I want to know what you’re dreaming, creating and your latest big plan. I want to know if you leave others happier, seen, heard and loved by your very existence.

If this resonates with you and you’re ready to change the conversation with a fabulous group of fire starting female entrepreneurs then c’mon over and join us in The Moxie Entrepreneur Facebook Group.

Want more?

You can find me on my Facebook page Bron Martin where I sling original, homemade opinions and share my penchant for peacocks.

And if you’ve got “launch a smash hit success course” on your business bucket list then grab a piece of The Moxie Launch Facebook Page action for tips, tools, tricks and hacks to launch your course with ease and grace.

--

--

Bron Martin
Listen To My Story

Business Growth Strategist for smart entrepreneurs who have a big WHY but need a little help with the HOW do I even?