Video podcast or no video podcast?

John Siracusa
ListenDeck
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2020

Video podcast or no video podcast?

There are two ways to incorporate video into a podcast. I’ll be discussing both ways here.

The first way is to broadcast video, meant for the audience. The second is non-broadcast, meant for the guest and host to see each other during the interview.

Broadcasting video:

I don’t do it for two reasons.

Broadcast video, is a very different medium than audio only. The way interviews happen and story’s told vary from one medium to the other. Each medium requires a very different production system. The biggest competitive advantage in podcasting is the underlying production system. Without a standardized production system shows are inconsistent and stressful to manage.

My interviewing style uncovers stories through questions of guests. For me, video interviews doesn’t quite capture the pureness of a back and forth conversation. When there’s a camera people perform rather than be themselves. My show is all about amazing founders and VCs being themselves. I found, video obstructs this. So I don’t do it.

And today, due to the Covid outbreak, remote recording is the only way to record. Even though I have a state-of-the-art studio in downtown NYC, I can’t access it. My show has very high production quality, producing audio only makes it easier on guests. My guests all have professional mics, you can see the guidelines here. If I incorporated video, we’d need to transport very heavy equipment.

Zoom interviews:

I don’t do this for two reasons. One, it’s not podcast friendly for recording purposes. Two, I found that even non-broadcast video makes guests nervous. So for those reasons I don’t incorporate video into my podcast. If you decide to, remember to understand distribution channels and line up a standardized production system.

Learn more about the ListenDeck audio production system.

--

--

John Siracusa
ListenDeck

I’m the host of the “Bank On It” podcast produced by ListenDeck. On the podcast I interview the people building and funding the future of fintech.