Getting Buy-in #ForTheWin

An interview with Nicole Pandohie, a Caribbean Communicator, on her process for introducing innovation into organisations.

Kenia Afreeka
ListenMi Views
7 min readOct 15, 2020

--

Nicole Pandohie’s work in the Caribbean has been globally recognized by USA Today and American Express Global. But we were curious about how she gets her Caribbean clients, particularly those on a budget, to take on her big ideas on digital communication.

This interview is part of #MissionDigital2021, a series featuring over 21 takeaways from 20 pioneering communicators and creators who are shaping the digital culture of organizations they serve. You can join other creative and curious marketing enthusiasts who get this series by email by subscribing here. Listen to the full answers here, or read below!

Listen here or read below.

First up: How do you describe your role?

In my line of work as communicator, marketer and event manager, I’d say chief cook and bottle washer!!

I was raised to believe that you do what it takes to get the job done right. Outcome is everything. And I expect nothing less from my team. So if it means making the call backs myself to guarantee the right audience, then that is what I will do.

What body of work or campaign are you most proud of, and why?

Years ago, I had the honor of managing a campaign that promoted investment in Jamaica to a global audience during the country’s hosting of World Cup Cricket ’07. We succeeded in rallying corporate Jamaica in an unprecedented way to partner with us to promote Jamaica on a global stage, and show the world of business possibilities of Jamaica.

More recently, I’m very proud to be part of the team driving the Jamaica Food and Drink Festival, which has evolved over the last five years and is now a sought after event on our nation’s social calendar. It has also spiked international interest, resulting in increased tourist arrivals.

Last year, we earned the title of one of the ‘Best Things to Do in October,’ from American Express Global. We were also semi finalists of the World Food Travel Association’s ‘Food Trekking awards’. And we were voted by USA Today as one of the ‘Best Things to Leave the Beach in Jamaica For.’

How do you come up with your ideas?

“Undoubtedly, my best ideas come when I am not trying.”

My bestest idea right now is me on a beach somewhere, 18 year old scotch in hand, some sunshine and no one else in sight​. 😄 But I digress.

Undoubtedly my best ideas come when I am not trying. If I am faced with a conundrum, I realize it is often best to not focus on it at all. In stepping away my mind has this crafty way of continuing to process the issue, and somehow the best solutions always seem to present themselves when I am totally relaxed or during the most mundane tasks, like brushing my teeth.

And how do you decide what gets launched?

(This question is a text version exclusive, audio folks!)

“I will step away if the outcome does not align.”

Unfortunately, clients and budgets are a reality in my world so the best version of the original idea may not necessarily be the one that sees daylight. But hey, welcome to the real world. So I will always present the bells and whistles and customize as we go along.

I do have hard and fast limits though. Everything I put out there is, after all, a reflection of my brand and me. And in my line of business, my reputation is my equity. So I will step away if the outcome does not align. 🚪 🚶‍♀

Are there any great ideas you wish you were able to sell your team on?

Too many to count! I’ve been in this business for a looonnnggg time. But on the flip side, I have grown to realize that we often have sparkly ideas that are so dazzling that we sometimes neglect to consider that they could be flawed or at least be improved with tweaks.

Truth is, some of the best outcomes I’ve had started with a really great idea that has undergone a process of evaluation from people with different perspectives… and then, of course there are times when I just have the best ideas and people just need to fall in line 😊.

So your audience tells you they want a new innovation. How do you get an organization to be aligned to what its audience wants?

“Two words — global trends.”

This is a forever problem. I’d say two words — global trends. Having the organization understand that their circumstance is not unique is key. I show them that there is a precedent of success for new strategies that will position them as innovative and industry leaders.

Many organizations are stuck in the ‘ same old’ because of the “if it ain’t broken…” philosophy. Or sometimes because ‘this is the way the CEO wants it done.’ But oftentimes they are out of touch with their customers, or are missing out on untold opportunity.

It is our job as marketers to guide them, and sometimes it requires a suggestion from someone outside the organization. I have found that most, if not all clients, are open to change and innovation if they see tangible value and are presented with a credible (cost vs value) and logical plan to get there.

“Companies tend to find budget when they have buy-in.”

Many times the push back is because the effort to change seems onerous. But if they have someone they trust to guide the process they are generally willing to engage.

How would you describe your work culture?

“My ‘devil is in the details’ mindset is a perpetual issue for me.”

My “company” culture has always been centered on great, innovative ideas and brilliant execution. For me, the devil is in the details.

I have learnt along the way to plan for every alternative, but at some point Murphy will rear his mischievous head and you have got to let go. I am coming to terms with the idea of not sweating the small stuff and that just about everything becomes small stuff with the passage of time.

Today, I bite my lip and magnanimously tell my staff that mistakes are how we grow… but don’t let it happen again.

Do you bring any new ideology/ way of doing things that you have to pass on your teams?

“The buy-in is work in progress and generally does not sink in until a major blunder happens.”

My “devil is in the details’’ mindset is a perpetual issue for me, especially with the young-uns who typically do not appreciate the value of meticulous planning.

The buy-in is work in progress and generally does not sink in until a major blunder happens. I tend to start off with checklists for every team member to ensure policies are followed in the hope that someday it will become a habit.

How do you measure your success?

As a person — peace of mind. When I’m in that place of peace it means I am content with paths taken and outcomes realized.

For the project — we start all our projects with clear cut KPIs and fashion our strategies with those in mind, that way the outcomes tend to align. It helps, of course, if the client is beaming afterwards.

What tips would you give to fresh brands and individuals on how to successfully grow their brand and embrace a digital brand culture?

“Body language and actions are also media.”

  1. Remain true to yourself, I cannot stress this enough. With near 100% smartphone saturation the enquiring public is more educated and will smell inauthenticity a mile off. The Google culture is real, so you need to be.
  2. Do not try to be all things to all people. It’s best you do a few things and do them really well and be known for excellence. Quality over quantity every time.
  3. Consistency is key in building a brand. Your messaging has to translate through every possible medium. And yes, there are traditional media and social media, but body language and actions are also media!
  4. This became clear during Covid; stand ready to pivot. I know it is one of the most overused words today but this is real. In marketing we have to be nimble and expect the unexpected. Plan for every alternative. This dovetails into continuous learning, try to keep abreast on what is happening in your industry.
  5. Above all be passionate about what you do! Your energy and enthusiasm is contagious and convincing and will always work in your favour. If you believe in what you do, it makes your job a whole lot easier.
Detailed interview notes

#MissionDigital2021 is a project of ListenMi. We’re an animation and design partner for pioneering marketers and creators, who are changing the way companies in their industry connect with their audience. To work with us on your next illustration, web design or animation, just click here. To chat more on Twitter, shout me @keniamattis. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Kenia Afreeka
ListenMi Views

Head cheerleader at digital design firm @listenminow.