Top 10 🔥 Gmail Features that I ❤️

Ten 🔥 reasons to consider Gmail over all other free email services

Kabir Rocklin
Listpinion
5 min readFeb 19, 2020

--

I love Gmail. If you are worried about a big corporation like Google knowing every detail of your email communication, then you should not use any free email service. You should use encrypted email and send it to recipients who can deal with the encryption on their end. Good luck! However, if you are like most people who either don’t know or don’t care or don’t worry too much about free email services, I recommend Gmail as the best solution from the viewpoints of usability, availability, a higher degree of security, and simplicity. Here are my top ten reasons for recommending Gmail to you.

🔥 The Gmail app on the go is the best!

I use the Gmail app on my iPhone a lot. It allows me to get all my personal and business emails into a single interface, which is a lifesaver. I love seeing the screen shown below.

🔥 State-of-the-Art spam filtering

We all hate spam. Gmail does an excellent job of catching most spam. These days I never see spam on my inbox. The only time I see the world of spam is when I visit my Spam folder. All the hilarious attempts by spammers and phishing crown from Nigeria to the end of the world are down there.

🔥 Automatic smart categories/tabs

Gmail automatically places emails from people you know and messages that do not meet other category requirements into your Primary category/tab. Similarly, social media site generated messages go to the Social tab. Offers from companies like deals, promotions go to the Promotions tab. And the Updates tab includes emails such as notifications, receipts, bills, and statements. All emails are categorized for you without your input, which is super smart!

Gmail smart categories

🔥 Advanced search

If you are a command-line geek like me, you love to type in your search queries in Google and anywhere else to make it easier for the computer or service to find things for you. Gmail does not disappoint in this regard. It has some seriously advanced search features that only advanced users know and use.

Searching for emails from shopmoment.com between Feb 1st and end of Feb 2020

🔥 Awesome filtering rules

You can create very powerful filter rules in Gmail that allow emails to flow in and out of your inbox like magic.

🔥 Schedule emails

This is a Godsend! I tend to check and reply to emails in ungodly hours. This feature allows me to schedule emails so that they appear in a reasonable time frame for my recipients.

Click the little arrow next to the Send button to open the scheduling options

As a technology business owner of nineteen years, I can tell you sending emails to employees in ungodly hours is a bad habit by many executives. This is a passive way of saying to your employees that you are working all the time, and you expect them to learn from you. I think this is B.S. and so I use scheduling to send emails to my staff when they are in the office. It is something I am proud of learning awhile back!

🔥 Let Google’s A.I. help you reply!

When you are on the go and want to respond to work emails quickly, you can thank the Google A.I. that prepares some ready-to-send responses.

Gmail A.I. response for emails

🔥 Multiple from addresses

Since I have a lot of personal and business domains and prefer to use them accordingly, it is a great time saver to be able to send emails from different from addresses.

🔥 Multiple signatures

With multiple domain support, Gmail also has multiple signature support. This means if you use Gmail for multiple addresses, you can use a different signature for each email. This works well for me as I prefer to use a minimalist signature for personal email and a bit more business-oriented signature for professional email correspondence.

🔥 Use Gmail offline!!!

The only time I am without a WiFi is when I am on a long-haul flight where the dinky WiFi is either too expensive or not available. Most of the time, in such a condition, there is no need to write emails. But sometimes I board a plane with 10–20 emails waiting for a reply. In such a case, it is a great feeling to write respond to most or all of them and start a vacation or the trip without a need to reopen the email. So I find offline to be very useful in such a situation. It lets me let go of email before I step out of the plane to enjoy my journey.

There are many other noteworthy features of Gmail. For example, the canned email option is great for my support team. They create a canned reply for frequent but repeated issues that require customers to provide proper evidence of a bug or concern. In such a case, they reply using canned email to get the information they need to get the job done.

What is your top-10 reason to like or dislike Gmail or another email provider? Write a Top-10 article and submit to ListPinion at editor@listpinion.com.

--

--