A Clean Break

Austin Briggman
Lit Up
Published in
6 min readDec 9, 2018

--

Photo by Matthieu Comoy on Unsplash

It happened at a bar. The likeliest of places for me to run into her. It was the one with the dim lights and the dartboard in the corner alley. Bluefish, I think they called it. One of the bouncers there sold coke so the crowd was never dull but not a lot of class there either. At this point in my life, this particular bar had become my spot. Not because of the coke, although that certainly helped, because it was easy to get lost and be lost there. Everyone in that place wanted to be there. We were all completely lost in it together.

At least, I was until I saw her. She saw me first because I could feel her stare before I saw her. I remembered that feeling. Still do.

Jimmy was talking to her at the end of the bar. Poor bastard. Probably thought he was going to get an easy lay. Nora isn’t like that, though. She has to string you along first. Good old game of cat and mouse. We were both firm believers that the chase is better than the catch. That’s probably why we split up so much.

This last time was different. We both agreed that it wasn’t going to work out anymore. We never ended it that way before. It was usually me leaving her to sleep with someone else. Or because I got caught sleeping with someone else. She wasn’t perfect either. I knew there had been a few other guys, mostly when we were broken up.

--

--