A Decade-Long River

A wake-up call, a lullaby

Nirinda Niatiansya
Lit Up
1 min readApr 19, 2024

--

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Followed the rabbit down the notch
He had a watch, a clock
Wet cinderblock fell on my toe

A foe is a friend in disguise
Be wise, little one
You’ve won the battle, not the war

In my car, kissing for the first time
My crime was turning a blind eye
We cry a decade-long river

Feel better now, quiet thing?
I am loving, I am kind
I’m slowly losing my mind

I find it funny, remembering
You were loving, you were kind
You’re slowly slipping my mind

Nirinda Niatiansya is a writer from Jakarta, Indonesia. You can find her on Instagram, Medium, or in her room drinking iced coffee and watching Modern Family for the thousandth time.

More from Nirinda:

--

--

Nirinda Niatiansya
Lit Up
Writer for

A creative writer from Jakarta who writes made-up, romanticized meanings. Most of the time, she just likes words that sound pretty together.