A Letter to my heart

Lit Up — February’s Prompt: Letters

Rex Charger
Lit Up
3 min readFeb 20, 2018

--

Pixabay

I don’t know where to start.

But, I’ll begin with things that you wanted to know about me.

Maggie, I am not what you think. I have lived through ages, further than you can fathom. Places beyond your imagination. I have seen the god you pray to.

For centuries, his words ruled and bound my soul until I met Anaya. She set me free, helped me to reach heights unknown. Home no longer felt like home, I saw her face in everyone and everything. I couldn’t stay away from her so I took the fall from grace to walk beside her but she slipped away. The apple of my desire, lost.

Shattered, I roamed the world with pain as my company and tears as my only friend. Then I found you, alone, scared, picking up the pieces, barely keeping it together. Our faces held the same tone, eyes were weary, lips were pursed to keep the taste of tears away.

You were suffering but you didn’t complain, didn’t blame anyone, nor did you curse the heavens. You cried on the inside and accepted the agony as if you deserved it. A beautiful soul with such a tender heart,gnawed brutally by your own conscience. I tried to walk away but I knew this world would tear you apart. So I dared to come close, to raise your chin, to look into your eyes. They were the brightest shade of blue on a white canvas. Soulful, captivating, mesmerizing but sad.

An unworthy tear rolled down your face, it licked your cheek, kissed your lips before seeping into your mouth. You trembled with a sob, the quiver quaked my chest with deep shudders that collided within my heart. And then I saw a glimpse of you, a halo as that of a sun dazzling from behind the grey clouds of grief. I gave myself a little more time, for the sake of you, I told myself.

We held hands, you leaned on my arm, our eyes met. I didn’t blink, I held mine open as mirrors to your reflection, so you would realize how pretty you were. In that moment, your heartbeat filled the space between mine and caressed my wounds. I never thought I’d fall again, not after the torment it served. But your whispers made a promise, your breath stroked my nerves as I looked up, to see the gloom had parted, revealing a vibrant sky. Your warmth spooned me, it thawed my cold past, melted the burden off my shoulders.

I cupped your cheeks, you peeked up through your lashes. Your burning gaze asked questions that my lips dared not to speak.

So here I am, penning my emotions within the confines of this letter. Maggie, I have walked to all the corners of God’s exciting world, I have felt every emotion that heart can capture. But since I have met you, the small space between your arms is vast enough to enthrall me every time you wrap them around me, your smile is my happiness, your sigh is my breath.

I’d be glad if I could do without blinking and live without sleep, because I can’t bear a moment without you.

I Love you, Magdalene Smith, with all my heart, I am yours till I die.

--

--

Rex Charger
Lit Up

A man chasing every emotion there is, hence, a Writer.