A Rainy Graduation

johnronand
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2019

a lyric

to be sung to the tune of Hélène - Je m’appelle Hélène

Hélène — Je m’appelle Hélène [Clip officiel]
by me

My friend
When life parts our plans
And parting remains
Longer than we’ve planned

Perhaps
We won’t have the chance
To sing hand in hand
In another rain

So my friend, please take my hand
Hand in hand, let’s sing again

My friend
Remember these hands
They’ll hold on to faith
When love needs a hand

My friend
The joy and the pain
We’ve shared and we’ve braved
Have strengthened our hands

Though our paths may branch and bend
Love, my friend, will stay unchanged

My friend
This is not the end
The love we began
Is still in our hands

My friend
From now till the end
Our love will remain
And whisper softly when it rains
The name and love our hearts retain

My friend
Whenever it rains
I’ll sing this refrain
Again and again

Time and tide may change our plans
Love and faith will last and stand

My friend
This is not the end
The love we began
Is still in our hands

My friend
From now till the end
Our love will remain
And whisper softly when it rains
The name and love our hearts retain

My friend
When life parts our plans
And parting remains
Longer than we’ve planned

Perhaps
We won’t have the chance
To sing hand in hand
In another rain

So my friend, please take my hand
Hand in hand, let’s sing again

Time and tide may change our plans
Love, my friend, will understand

The first and most probably the last time I write a lyric.
Didn’t imagine that it would be so hard.

--

--