After the Attack

Anxiety At Its Best

D.C Memoir
Blackened Thoughts
2 min readMay 4, 2018

--

After the tears,
crunched eyes,
and unreasonable amount of fears,
I’m still here.

Even after all the times I was told I couldn’t breathe,
and all the many times I told myself I could.

How could you?!
Don’t you know it’s rude to ignore people,
to try to throw people out at 4am.

Well, how rude of me,
inconsiderate.
But look what’s done is done.

So 4am I sit still feeling echoes of past tears
Broken molds of steady heartbeats
Temptation and disbelief.

Ask me, what is 4am made for?
Conversations with my anxiety

The Delphic Memior

Originally finding success with slam poetry, Memoir now has expanded into short stories, fiction, and non-fiction. Building off his experiences with depression and anxiety Memoir looks to share and heal.

If you like this piece please do clap 👏 and comment!

Follow Me on Facebook: D.C Memoir

Enjoy this article? Check out some other pieces:

--

--

D.C Memoir
Blackened Thoughts

What does it mean to be a storyteller? Who will you tell stories about? Probably someone indistinct, someone not too different from you.