Aisle

poemloft
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readFeb 5, 2018

As I watch you walking down that aisle
Time stands still for an instant,
Bringing back memories;
And I dream of this very moment,
Where I’m the one who’s waiting
Beneath the stained glass…
Where did we go wrong?
When everything seemed so right,
Should have known that happy endings
Are just Hollywood thrills and pay-per-views,
The past keeps haunting me each day,
Can’t seem to escape it
No matter how much I try,
What is this feeling?
What is this pain?

Like driving a knife to the heart
Without any refrain,
It keeps going in a little deeper

With each step you take,
And cuts open emotions
That have hardened for your sake;
And now as you pass me, going down that aisle
So beautiful,
Timeless in white,
All I want to do is shout,
Stop you,
Right here,
Right now,
And say…
But not today.

--

--

poemloft
Lit Up
Writer for

Wisdom never came from fools, but its wise to be foolish sometimes….