All The Beautiful Broken Things

Free Verse

Cathy Shang
Lit Up
1 min readJun 25, 2021

--

Photo by Trym Nilsen on Unsplash

The flowers that I can not grow
(they’re pressed between book pages somewhere)
The porcelain vase that cracked in the kiln
(I have it on a shelf, the lavender glaze is still my favorite)
The songs I will never finish writing
(I wish I passed my music theory exam)
The shoelaces that I can never tie properly
(I often run with them undone)
The shattered jar of jasmine syrup I dropped on my foot
(it looked somehow celestial in the 5 o’clock light)
The pictures that I can never paint
(I can never mix the right colors, my hands are always shaking)
The words that will never be said
(my poems sounds better on paper)
The notes I can never sing
(I wish I wasn’t tone deaf)
The fear of disturbing what has already been cultivated
(I wonder how much love in this world hides behind silence)

--

--

Cathy Shang
Lit Up

Cathy Shang is a sophomore studying in Shanghai. She enjoys creating digital art and animations and is very active in parliamentary debate.