All The Shades of Blue

A Maguire
Lit Up
Published in
11 min readNov 21, 2017

--

There are some decisions no one should ever have to make. Decisions that change everything. I used to think all I had to do to be a good man was to hold up my end. Meet my responsibilities. Take care of the people who trusted me and everything would be pretty much all right. I was wrong.

“So, you were going to tell me what you had to promise Frank for this vacation?” my wife asked. Ally hated my boss. Hated him from the first moment they met. Frank wasn’t a bad guy, not all that high up the evolutionary ladder, but in my industry, there weren’t many who were, so I couldn’t hold it against him.

I took my eyes off the road, cocking a suggestive brow at her. “Well, he did say something about getting to know you better. I told him we’d iron out the details later.”

“Pig.” She made a face and glanced over her shoulder. In the backseat, the two girls were still huddled together over some game.

Only one of them was ours. Caitlin. A cute redhead who looked more like her mother every day. The other was Beth. Same age, but she had her mom’s honey-blonde hair and my little brother’s bright blue eyes.

“Did Pete say anything about …” Ally shot another glance backward.

“No,” I said, my voice low. A week ago, I’d gotten a call in the middle of the night. Liz’d had an affair and Pete had just…

--

--

A Maguire
Lit Up

Writer, dreamer, developmental editor, book coach, farmer and mother.