An Unholy Matrimony

Excerpt from Question of Creation

D.C Memoir
Lit Up
2 min readMay 11, 2018

--

Photo by Thomas Doggett on Unsplash

Insecure
In my abilities
I watched you wither so beautifully
A simple rose whose petals I plucked
Picked from the garden, I harbored you.

I harbored you away from your best place
So I can hold you close to me
I watched you wither your beauty to me

You are weak with pain,
Your shields are gone,
Those thoughts can now creep slow.

I know I’m not forgiven
How could I be
Take so many pieces from your identity,
Those pieces just can’t be replaced.

Apologies
Are much worthless as me and my incapabilities.

I was told never to fall in love with one of mankind.
Their fickleness will rub off on you,
Their insecurities will weaken you,
It is never meant to be.

But if my quest be for knowledge,
Than I recognize none that is better.
And you were more than one of mankind,
I was bestowed a fallen angel.

But maybe it is best I never love again,
It possibly was never made to be.
Because never was it worth your pain,
To watch you wither your beauty to me.

The Delphic Memior

Originally finding success with slam poetry, Memoir now has expanded into short stories, fiction, and non-fiction. Building off his experiences with depression and anxiety Memoir looks to share and heal.

If you like this piece please do clap 👏 and comment!

Follow Me on Facebook: D.C Memoir

Enjoy this article? Check out some other pieces:

--

--

D.C Memoir
Lit Up
Writer for

What does it mean to be a storyteller? Who will you tell stories about? Probably someone indistinct, someone not too different from you.