LIT UP Poetry

Being

S. F. Diaz
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readMar 8, 2024

--

Poetry

Photo by miro polca

The clouds move slower…I disregard the trees I used to climb.
Couldn’t be bothered with the scent of rainy afternoons.
Stranger’s faces.
Stranger’s tunes.

Tears fall, without reason.
The last time I was truly terrified is unremembered.
I am not sure when I smiled last, just for smiling’s season.

I don’t participate.
Selective or dull hearing?
Impossible to indicate.
The weight on my shoulders is so much heavier than I thought.
Confusion grows and falls on me quickly.
It’s all a lot.
I need so much more than air to breathe.
Searching for peace, with much effort or not.

Is this my body’s prime?
Couldn’t tell you what day it is.
Toilsome to talk this time.

Anxious bones, anxious teeth.
Everything feels like so much work.
Many groans, far beneath.

Sleep then wake. Wake then sleep.
Indiscernible now.
Many more memories to upkeep.

Have I even traveled far?
My clothes have not changed…
all my coins in the same jar.

Did I tell you I love you,
or was it that I hate you?
I’m so very tired.
Still haven’t found anyone who feels like this too.

--

--

S. F. Diaz
Lit Up

I am not a writer by vocation. I am a musician but work for a non-profit currently. I write whatever spills out of my thoughts.