Bringing the world together

Happy Birthday, Jk Mansi ❤ Translating poetry— Greek version

DiAmaya Dawn
Lit Up
1 min readNov 5, 2018

--

Source

This is a response translation to Jk Mansi’s fun project as requested for her birthday. Read the original poem here:

Στο σκοτάδι μπροστά
Έχω δει μια αχτίδα φωτός
Να κοιτάξω ή να κοιτάξω αλλού
Αναρωτιέμαι
Όσο στέκομαι εδώ σιωπηλή, αναποφάσιστη.

Sto skotàthee brostà
ého thee mia ahtida* fotόs
Na kitàkso ee na kitàkso aloù
Anarotiéme
Όso stékome edό* siopilί, anapofàsisti.

In the darkness ahead
I have seen a ray of light
should I look or look away
wondering this
I stand here silent, undecided

Notes:

  • “D” in Greek is pronounced “ ð ” as in “this”
  • “h” in Greek is pronounced as “h” in “here”
  • the accent (΄) on top of the vowels indicates the stress.
  • Exact translation of the Greek text is: In the darkness ahead, I have seen a ray of light, should I look or look away, I wonder, as I stand here silent, undecided.
    I changed that because in modern Greek, “wondering this I stand…” would sound strange :)
  • I had to use gender for the adjectives so, of course, I’ve used the female.

--

--

DiAmaya Dawn
Lit Up
Editor for

Reader, writer, editor, poet, dancer, music addict. Japanophile, pluviophile and attracted by darkness. Part normal, part Greek. www.diamayadawn.com