call for navigation

Chris Taylor
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2024

poem by Chris Taylor

Photo by Nikolay Vorobyev on Unsplash

i should hire someone to memorize
the streets in my city,
my hometown that i never learned
my way around, i still find strange
sounds that could be gunshots
or could be shouts,

i should figure out which
intersection holds that
ironic embassy, learn the location
of the closest grocery store,
maybe i’ll speak to the manager
get all the labels torn off the food
so i don’t have to look at them

maybe i should buy a house
or get a ride, i don’t think
walking tired and sleepless for
hours is good for my heart,
it’s not good for my bones to
be lost in my head,

someone should tell me what
to do, who to speak to, to buy
myself a life, i thought i was
taught everything i needed
to know but somehow still ended
up back home, now it doesn’t
feel right.

here, see this flier just posted, covered
in the most nostalgic, happy
polaroids i could find
in my two pockets, advertising a
position as navigator.

advertising a position
to hold the taxi door for the
better things that always drag behind
but can never walk through in time.

Chris Taylor is a young writer who creates poetry as a coping mechanism, sharing it as a way to connect with others. In their spare time, they enjoy spending time around dogs, family, and listening to electronic and alternative music.

--

--

Chris Taylor
Lit Up
Writer for

Creator of poetry working on healing. follow my tiktok @weirdpoetry_