LIT UP POETRY

Dark Side of the Moon

She mad

Ellen Catherine
Lit Up

--

Sliver night time moon with beam of light from red clouds to its surface
Photo by Mahdi Soheili on Unsplash

The moon
will have to hold
this anger

I cannot release tonight

The power
of its tidal changes
must push and pull
carry and build

this fury within me tonight

The moonlight
will have to serve
as witness tonight

Stand guard
gate keeper
sentinel coal heaper
protector of

this flame within me tonight

Reminding me

I am

alive

warm

like the invisible blood
dripping down my body
after such a slaughter

This monocular orb
will have to absorb
this rising anger tonight

pouring into craters
storing in dead volcanoes
this endless wrathful lava

Trapped
it will wait

handing over
my nocturnal
vengeful vessel

transferring power
at first ray

to tomorrow’s sun

So that I may continue

nurturing
feeding
stoking

this inferno

that rages within me tonight

If you’d like to read more of my work, feel free to stop by:
https://medium.com/@ellencatherinewrites

--

--

Ellen Catherine
Lit Up
Writer for

Lifelong writer of essays, memoir pieces, and poetry who is working to release the ball of angst, worry, and guilt associated with said writing.