Drawings in the Night

Happy Birthday, JennL! ❤

DiAmaya Dawn
Lit Up
2 min readMay 14, 2018

--

Illustration by Kazuaki Horitomo

It’s past midnight and the street lights of our town are finally on. I much prefer their warm, yellow colour than the bright sun. The sun disturbs my eyes very much.

Maybe I should go to find some food, I’m starving all day but I still have this thing to finish. I wish I hadn’t taken up that task but I did and now I can’t leave it in the middle. The others might take away or spill the ink I found. Men might also take away my beautiful canvas. No, no, no. I won’t let that happen, not until I’m done.

It’s okay, I will eat later, I can wait. I just hope it won’t start raining again. That would be a disaster.

I like the way this brush paints on the fur. The fur was all white. Who likes it all white? Not me, if you ask me. Overestimated white cuteness. I guess he knew too, that’s what he envied in that goddamn slut. The lack of it.

In all honesty, she’s beautiful though. That grey of hers. So lucky.

Eh, well…I guess that’s what I like in this ink too. This grey is very similar to her grey. Haha. How about that? Life is a bitch, they say. And I’d have agreed if “bitch” didn’t scare the shit out of me.

I smell something. Is it food? Where? Let me just check. My canvas can’t move for sure, hehe.
Aww my stomach is growling.
Oh! Bagels! Somebody might have dropped them. Hehe, mine now, stupid.
Well, I guess these will keep me for some time.

Okay, back to work. Paint, paint.

This brush is heavy though, it hurts my mouth. But I’m almost done. A few more lines to mix up those colours…so disgustingly romantic.

Now he’s striped. Striped and beautiful.

Aaaand voilà. All done.

I’m sure she’ll find him soon and pretend to cry as if she cares. She’ll ask me, Did you kill him?

And I’ll say, yes, I killed him! Just like he did when he told me those disgusting creatures of yours were his too. He fucked you, I fucked him.
So he’s dead. He’s dead as he deserved to be. As all cheaters deserve to be.

Right?
I think I’m right.
I must be right.

But then again, what do I know
I’m just a cat.

Author’s note: This is an impromptu birthday present for JennL, who asked for a story based on this picture, using cats, bagels, and sex as a prompt.

--

--

DiAmaya Dawn
Lit Up
Editor for

Reader, writer, editor, poet, dancer, music addict. Japanophile, pluviophile and attracted by darkness. Part normal, part Greek. www.diamayadawn.com