Drowsiness

Jon Jackson
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJan 9, 2018

Concrete walls. A room. A hole in the upper corner. A great expansive sky blended with grey concrete.

Wrapped in a blanket, I was warm and sleepy. Irresistibly warm and sleepy. My family was around me.

Then the droning began again. Whistling and explosions. My mother nudged me from my slumber. My irresistible slumber.

Wake up, she said. We should leave, she said.

No, I replied. I am happy here, I replied. I am happy in my drowsiness. My drowsiness is happiness. What awaits us elsewhere will be just as bad as life here. Why can’t you see that we may as well end our life here?

Now, I was alert. Now, I was frenetic. I felt a wave of anger overtaking.

My anger made me wake.

My anger made me stand.

My anger made me fly right into the expanse.

--

--

Jon Jackson
Lit Up
Writer for

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment