Every Artist Has a Curse That Blesses Someone

I want mine too…

B.amba
Lit Up
1 min readMay 1, 2018

--

Swapnil Dwivedi — Unsplash

I wish I could write stories that make you cry
Or, make you bubble with a laugh
I wish I could write stories
Good enough for Nollywood,
Hollywood or any wood
Something your kids will never forget
But every time I start a script,
I end up with lines and verses

I wish I could write a song
Music that changes someone
Melodies for happy times
And tunes for other times
But every time I start a chorus
I end up tone deaf

I wish I could write a poem
One good enough for a Medium challenge
One upon wish I could hit publish
And not log out for days
Teach me to write better than Eliot
Cause I really want to write a poem for you

Every artist has a curse that blesses someone
I want mine too
Like stories and screenplays
Or music and essays
I could even try poetry
I just want to write a winning piece
But every time I begin,
I end up just me; the artist with no curse

--

--