Photo by Sai Kiran Anagani on Unsplash

Furious Friday

Kelly Sgroi
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018

--

Music blares through the speakers on my ears. I’m occupying myself with a weekly chore. Drowning out the world with the sound of the mechanical machine I’m controlling. Everything on pause. Listening to Gloria Gaynor’s convincing lyrics. No chime, whether it be a doorbell, phone message, or fire alarm will interrupt my solitude. My song is selected at random by the portable device I use for many things, listening to music being one.

On the first Friday of the month, I’m expecting an email. A chime will alert me at precisely five at night with instructions. It’s like an episode of some action show or treasure hunt. I am to wait for my cues and then act furiously.

But, I chose to vacuum. Deafening myself from hearing that familiar sound. The ting of a new email.

A decision I made after failing the last time, was that I should not waste my time. I am never going to win anything. Counting how many competitions I’ve entered in the last few years is near impossible. What I can say for sure is that, never once did I receive any accolades or encouragement. I was just left feeling unworthy.

But something’s starting again, bubbling up. I can’t control it. Inspiration. My body telling me I should write, and enter again. The invitation arrives and I look at my computer because I know what time it is. I don’t need to check the clock or wait to hear a chime.

The whir of my cleaning machine and the pep talk from Gloria Gaynor are no match for the thoughts that invade my brain.

Before I even read the criteria. As I’m singing along, vacuuming. I knew this was going to happen. Because there is nothing else on my mind. Ideas are brewing, excitement mounting. And I feel compelled to find the time to express myself in words, once again. Always have, always will. Win or lose.

--

--

Kelly Sgroi
Lit Up
Writer for

I write, even if no one shall read. I imagine, vent, love, and mum.