Goodbye Yes

Catherine Marty
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readFeb 2, 2018
Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Yes,
The word I have followed,
Without question,
Without argument.
Yes,
I’ve been trained to say you,
But you,
Have been my undoing.
I’ve had trials,
Of not saying you,
Not letting your urge to leave my mouth,
Going against what I know.
These times have been hard,
Difficult,
Something new,
The beginnings of a new me.
But the time has come,
To be stronger,
To look after myself,
By only giving to who and what serves me.
There is a word I must use now,
Without question or argument,
Without doubting myself,
And that word is NO.

--

--

Catherine Marty
Lit Up
Writer for

Melbourne based writer of fiction and poetry. Therapist. Singer/Songwriter. Traveller. Feminist. Aspiring novelist. Twitter: @CatherineMarty3