Guardian Angel From Ladder Truck 3

Brent Aaron
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2018

I looked up
at a big strong man.
Long black coat,
helmet in hand.
He said, “Son,
can’t you see
there’s trouble here.
You’ll have to leave.”

I said, “Sir,
my daddy’s inside.
He works in that building
way up high.
Would you go find him
and bring him down
here to me,
safe and sound?”

He just smiled
and patted my head.
Said, “Be right back,”
and ran on ahead
into the smoke,
through the front door.
Till I couldn’t see him no more.

“God in heaven
Hear my plea.
I’m just a boy
but please listen to me.
I’ll clean my room,
I’ll always take out the trash.
From now on
I’ll do all that he asks.”

I crossed the street,
found a place to sit down.
There were people screaming
and running around.
A woman was crying,
and she looked at me
and said, “How can this happen?
How can this be?”

I got scared,
I started to cry.
There was smoke in the air,
and fire in the sky.
I covered my ears,
I lowered my head,
and into the noise
I whispered again,

“God in heaven
hear my plea.
I’m just a boy
but please listen to me.
I’ll be the best son
any boy could be
if You’d just bring him back
to my momma and me.”

I looked up
at a big tall man
covered in smoke,
blood on his hands.
He picked me up
and we ran away,
and as that building fell
I heard him say,

“Thank you, God
for bringing me down
to my little boy
safe on the ground,
and for the strong hand
that somehow found me,
my guardian angel
from Ladder-Truck Three.”

--

--