Hear Her Roar

Catherine Marty
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJun 14, 2018
Photo by Katherine Hanlon on Unsplash

I’ve always felt that my feminism was a little diluted,

Cloudy and unclear;

my purpose uncertain.

*

So, I fought for women, they were beaten,

bruised; my fight for them masked my own.

*

I start to shake, my need,

boils over; a volcano erupting,

My anger can no longer be covered,

hidden from view; gone unseen.

*

My rage is mirrored by those whom match my own,

together we stand; together we fight.

*

So now my sights are set,

like perfectly set concrete; my view is only of those who make the bruises,

To the perpetrators, the entitled,

the pied pipers leading the snakes into our grass.

Our fierce arms will hold you back.

*

The howl of a feminist is not that of an angry woman;

of brittle angst, of years of voices scorned.

The howl is of a feminist’s strength, of her power;

her shouts and the hope of thousands to join her.

*

Hear her roar.

--

--

Catherine Marty
Lit Up
Writer for

Melbourne based writer of fiction and poetry. Therapist. Singer/Songwriter. Traveller. Feminist. Aspiring novelist. Twitter: @CatherineMarty3