Heaven Is a Place on Earth

It’s Complicated: Lit Up & The Writing Cooperative Contest

Amanda Blyweiss
Lit Up
4 min readMar 27, 2019

--

Image by Daniele D’Andreti on Unsplash

Typically seeing a human cry brings me a particular joy, a professional satisfaction. It has been my life’s work to punish the wicked and seek justice. I’m quite good at it.

Seeing her cry, however, that was punishment for me. It was a special kind of hell. Her eyes would get puffy as fat tears rolled down her cheeks. She would start to sniffle and turn a blotchy red. She calls herself an “ugly crier.” Even in that state, she was utterly beautiful.

“It’s not fair,” she muttered into the pillow she was clutching to her chest. Tear stained polka dots now decorated the once solid red pillow. She wouldn’t meet my eyes.

My chest was full of that annoying ache I had whenever she was upset. It rarely happened, but when it did, I was restless and agitated; two qualities I don’t do well.

“I know my love. I wish there was another way.” I sat down next to her and pulled her close, tucking the top of her head under my chin. The smell of her floral shampoo tightened the pain in my chest more. It was one thing for her to be upset, but it was even worse for me to be the cause.

I am not easy to love, yet she does so with the grace of all the saints combined. She kisses my scars and embraces my darkness. She understands the things I can’t say. I’ve had to do unspeakable things in my line of work.

Her petite form fit perfectly in my arms as if she were made for me. She looked so small and fragile, but I know how deceiving looks can be. Her strength was in her smile, her kisses, her giggles. With her, happiness and peace seemed within reach.

“Why does he need you now? You just got back.” It was a fair question.

I sighed deeply, “You know as well as I do that no one knows what dear, old dad’s intentions are but I have to comply.”

Something that sounded like “bullshit” was muttered into the pillow. Then I felt her body quiver with suppressed sobs. Despite our age gap and her youth, she was right to be upset. My father hadn’t interfered with my life or work in the family business in ages, but it coincidently seemed to align with her arriving in my life. My father doesn’t do coincidence.

We sat together in silence, knowing there wasn’t much more to be said. Arguing wouldn’t change the outcome. We only argued over things like who the best superhero was or where to get ice cream. Eventually, her sniffles stopped and her breathing slowed.

Pulling away, she turned to face me. I could stare down pure evil, but when she had that look in her eyes, I was the one to look away first. That determined furrow to her forehead made me brace for impact.

“You listen here. I swear to God that if you don’t come back in two weeks -”

“Why do you need to bring him into it -”

“Two. Weeks.” She bit out the words and glared fiercely. “If you’re not back in two weeks, I will come after you. Understood?”

The woman was utterly unbelievable. She knew as well as I did that her threat held no weight since she couldn’t actually come after me, but I appreciated a good threat. Her bossiness was one of her most appealing qualities. Never in my life had anyone besides my father dared to order me around. Even after she found out who I was, she simply shrugged and stated we were still getting dessert.

I slid off the couch and on to my knees, clutching her hand in the process.

With as much panache I could muster with a straight face, I said, “My light, my love, my only: I swear that I will return to you in two weeks time or they don’t call me Light-Bringer.” I kissed the back of her hand loudly.

She grinned and the vise in my chest loosened a little. I knew she wasn’t pleased, but she accepted me — all of me. That meant accepting the occasional errand for my father, too.

Leaning forward, she pressed her forehead to mine. “When do you have to leave?”

I hesitated. “As soon as possible.”

Her grin faltered. The last time I had left for an errand for my father, I had lost track of time and was gone for months. She forgave me but I knew she still bore a scar. Feelings of abandonment can have that effect, and I knew all too well about abandonment.

“Just promise you’ll come back. Promise you’ll come back to me.”

“I promise I will come back. It’s a deal.”

Her lips twitched to an almost smile. “You know my mom told me not to make deals with the Devil.”

“She did, did she? Well, I don’t think she knew how good looking I was when she said that.”

A pillow playfully hit my face. I always held up my end of a bargain and this was one deal I was anxious to keep. No matter the repercussions.

“I love you.”

“I love you too, Luci.”

I smiled sinfully at her pet name for me. I hated it at first but had come to adore hearing her say it. Quickly, I scooped her up and headed to our bedroom.

“And just where do you think you’re taking me?” She raised an eyebrow and began to squirm in feigned distress.

“To take care of some devilish intentions, of course. Are my charms working yet?”

I felt her hand run through my hair, sending delicious shivers down my spine. She moved close to my ear, whispering in a velvety voice.

“Are mine, Mr. Morningstar?”

A wicked grin formed across my lips. With her, heaven truly was a place on earth.

--

--