Honey, I don’t care

belhau
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readDec 6, 2018
Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

You say that I don’t care

I deny, ‘It’s not true’

Yet my words like yours fall vacuous

Empty but for the dramatic denial.

I feel the yawning distance

I see the stretched silences, from afar

I hear the gritty agitation once conversation does start.

Your annoying questions

My annoyed gestures

Each riling the other

Until one of us breaks.

Then another rant

Things clawed up from the past with bloodied blunt fingernails

Words liberally dropped as in the final air raid

Even the fights have lost their spirit and sincerity.

___

I’d like to think it’s because we know we are strong

That we will get past this

That we are only being honest with each other

That we are special

That this is just an exceptional messed up time.

But maybe, just maybe

It’s because, I dunno

I don’t care?

--

--

belhau
Lit Up
Writer for

Ruminating on cud. C.H.E.W: Corporate renegade, Homeschooler, Explorer, Writer.