Brooke Jean
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readOct 11, 2018

--

“long exposure photography of beach” by Kamil Kalbarczyk on Unsplash

I had to get over
myself.

REBIRTH

Throw me in the ocean
resurrect me.

Wash away the waves
of trauma
that has danced on this brain.

Floating on my back
selflessly
hoping the sun
doesn’t blind me
I’m just trying to see
all of me.

AGAIN

Hourglass hours passing by
I’ve arrived.
Fatigued on the shore
sand slowly sliding off my skin

BUT

I survived.
Finally keeping a promise to me
after sacrificing my peace.
Self-sabotage
will never find me.

I deserve
to live on my island.

Reshaping my constellations
because it’s easier
to see the stars
at night… here.

Voice flowing with the wind
welcoming all the challenges
it’s bound to face.

I’m no stranger
to adversity

…so I’ll rebuild
reflect
and empower these steps
to move mountains

AGAIN

The footprints
they leave
will be the person
I’ve always wanted
to be.

I’ve been training
for this

all
my
life.

Brooke Jean ©2018

Self-care activist. Spoken Word Artist. I help professionals craft effective conversations through art. www.brookejean.com

--

--

Brooke Jean
Lit Up
Writer for

Self-care activist. Spoken Word Artist. I help people face their career fears and communicate their worth. info@brookejean.com