I Like Dipping My Thoughts in That Moment

Mariam Soliman
Lit Up
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2018
Photo by me

I like people who go and stand in the sun, while waiting for the train.
I like when they still do that, even though the sun spot is a little further from the area where the train stops.

I like to see someone closing their eyes in enjoyment of the sunshine blessing their skin. I like them giving in to this moment of Being entirely.

I like to see the sun outlining people’s heads and bodies, softly and calmly, like a silent blessing.

I like it when my breath vaporizes in the cold air, making me feel like I can spit fire like a little dragon.

I like hearing the sound of the regional Berlin trains accelerating slowly, giving me the feeling that I am listening to the start of a symphony.
Do, Re, Mi, Fa, Sol, La… I like to remember the first time I heard these sounds, confused about not being able to find the group of musicians playing that music piece out of nowhere.

I like listening to the recorded train messages, realizing the little difference in timing or tone from day to day and week to week. I like pointing them out to the person accompanying me, seeing them roll their eyes or make fun of me for not using my time for something useful. I actually find it truly amusing.

I also like comparing the train messages from city to city or between train and bus and underground. I like feeling the happy child in me, the child that points out all these things to adults that they don’t really care about anymore.

I like seeing words sprayed, glued, painted, printed all around me, and realizing that, once again, I tried to discreetly paint them out with my fingers on my hand or my other fingers, imagining the logic or system behind writing them like this.

I like dipping cookies in my coffee, incapable of resisting the temptation to do that. I like feeling my mind urging me to dip as much of it as possible every time, or else I will not be able to have the full coffee experience.
I like when the person accompanying me makes fun of me and thinks this is inappropriate. That, too, I find so amusing.

I like when someone comes into the train with a cup in their hand, filling the whole train with the smell of fresh hot coffee.

I like watching the birds in the courtyard. I like seeing them stand where they are for long, long minutes and sometimes hours, especially at sunset, teaching me about presence and being in the moment, like no words can.

I like it when the shadows of the trees fall on an old wall or an old building, or a street, showing the most valuable works of art, only available for a moment, or two, if you are lucky.

I’m back in the train, and I like to see the trees flying by in a haze that is untouchable, making me remember that this is what life’s moments are like, fleeting in their existence, beautiful when captured for an instant, but not to be caught forever.

Notes on a train, 23/02/18.
I was taken away by a sudden life-loving energy, amazed at everything I am seeing around me, and so I gave what I saw a second life.

--

--

Mariam Soliman
Lit Up
Writer for

I am a dreamer from Egypt in my 20s, and I write about spiritual journeys, identity, society and the beautiful calm moments between the hurricanes of life.