I Want to Say I Love You

April is Autism Awareness Month

Pat Link
Lit Up
1 min readApr 9, 2018

--

I want to say I love you

But I can’t

My words have been stricken from me

Taken, perhaps is more accurate

Taken from me by Autism

The deepest love that I feel for you

Must remain forever unspoken

For I cannot form those three simple words

I love you

The fact that I can never tell the world

Of my boundless love for you

Saddens me beyond your comprehension

I may laugh at your jokes

And cry with you for your losses

But I am struck mute

And cannot utter those three simple words

I love you

I know there is another

Who tells you these words every day

I writhe with jealousy

Their words come so simply

I love you

The smiles and kisses that follow

Break my heart

This page gives me my voice

The voice to say what I cannot

I love you

I’m sorry it’s all I can do

For my love for you is boundless

My dearest Father

Autism has stripped me of my voice

But not my love

I love you

--

--