It’s all a blur

Chris A George
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2018

Microfiction

Image by jplenio at Pixabay

“Did I go too far? I can’t remember the last time I got so angry at Debra. And over what? Housework? Come on; it was pretty silly of her to start a fight over that.”

“The kids, oh my God, they would not stop fighting. Foolish little things get them so riled up towards each other.”

“I told Debra that I was having one of my headaches, she should have known better than to start that shit with me when they start. They all should, but today, they would not leave me alone, not leave me in peace.”

“I just wanted to spend the last couple of hours before I had to get on the road, with my family, relaxing. Do they not realize how stressful my job is? Away from home all the time. Sometimes, on my weekend, I don’t want to do any more work.”

“God, my head still hurts like hell! Not as bad as before, at least I can think now, Which is good, considering the long drive I have ahead of me.”

“The last couple of hours have been a blur. I only remember shouting, at Debra, at the kids.”

“So much shouting.”

“I’ll call when I get to the hotel. I’ll apologize and try to make it up to them.”

“They will forgive me. They have too.”

……

“This is officer Peters; I’m at the residence. Better put out a warrant for the husband.”

“The wife and children are dead.”

--

--

Chris A George
Lit Up
Writer for

Writer of short fiction. I will attempt to improve my writing as time goes by and I have decided that the only way to do that is to write.