POEM

I’ve Got a Secret

Enclosed Triplets

Mauricio Matiz
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJul 1, 2019

--

Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

I’ve got a secret that nobody knows.
I keep it locked away
somewhere near my marshy soul.

I’ve got a secret that makes me savvy,
hide it from homunculus,
who is most devious and canny.

I’ve got a secret that’s tough to conceal
boxed in, it punches out.
Angst is a heavy shadow that reveals.

I’ve got a secret that sets me ablaze.
Latched no more,
An emboldened heart pumps blood to my face.

. . .

My secret was sprung loose and is now cheap,
whispers from a showy chinwag.
Oh, how I wish I had a new secret to keep.

--

--

Mauricio Matiz
Lit Up
Writer for

The essays, stories, and poems I've released on Medium are collected at The Ink Never Dries (medium.com/matiz).