Photo by Louis Blythe on Unsplash

Juan

Omar Santamaria
Lit Up

--

We must definitely to be attentive to those beings or generous souls that cross our path.

It was one of those days when the world seems to weigh a ton, and you are carrying that ton over your shoulders.

A Saturday afternoon, a gray and rainy afternoon in a city where it never or almost never rained, according to the locals. An unknown city in an unknown country in which I had recently arrived when I had to emigrate from my country because of extreme circumstances, and that was the reason for my sadness.

It is very hard to be a foreigner; you miss everything and everyone, it is hard to leave your country and squeeze all your life in two suitcases, leaving behind your affections, customs, which makes you realize how lucky you were when you took everything for granted. It is difficult to be a stranger that almost everyone recognizes and identifies as soon as you say a word. You may pass unnoticed for some people, for others you will be a topic of conversation and some others simply hate you for being the foreigner.

I took my bicycle and decided to pedal along the coast until I found access to a beach. When I found one, I pushed the bike across the sand to a place that seemed busy; there were people fishing, walking along the shore or just sitting on the sand talking, and I decided to stay close and contemplate the activity so I do not feel so lonely. People seemed to ignore the thin drizzle that was falling, and approaching the area that seemed most lively, I sat on the sand.

“Do you want to fish?” said a male voice with a strong local accent behind me.

I turned and saw a short, middle-aged man, with tanned skin and damp hair, standing there, smiling at me in a friendly way.

“I’ve never fished,” I said, smiling back. “I would not know how to throw the hook.”

“But it’s never too late to learn, boy.”

“That’s true, I can learn.”

“That’s the idea,” he said as he handed me the cane. “I have another one.”

“Many thanks, Mr. — ?”

“Juan, my name is Juan.”

“I am Cesar, a pleasure,” I said offering him my hand.

“Hey! Guys!” he shouted while shaking my hand. “Who has something extra bait for my new friend Cesar?”

Immediately some guys came nearer to offer us the bait.

“This is Cesar, a friend who comes from another country,” he told the group that had gathered around us to offer his help. “Let’s welcome him and make him feel at home.”

“Hello everyone,” I said, a little ashamed.

“Welcome, Cesar,” said someone. “Hi, Cesar,” said another.

And so in a moment, I had my cane armed and ready to launch and it seemed that I was in a usual group of fishing friends, who mimicked Mr. Juan’s movements and chatted animatedly disregarding the drizzle and the increasing cold.

The time passed between conversations and throwing and picking up the hook — we did not catch anything, but for me it was as if I had known that man forever. We told each other our personal stories like two old friends until it was completely dark.

“It’s time to go home,” he told me. “It’s cold and you have to ride for a while.”

“It’s true, but that way I’ll get warm. I am very grateful for your company, Mr. Juan,” I said as I returned the fishing rod.

“It has been a pleasure for me too, boy, and take these, I give you the catch of the day,” he added, offering me a small bucket with five fish.

“Oh, no, Sir. I could not accept it, it’s your effort of the day.”

“Today I’m giving you my catch of the day and my effort, and tomorrow, I’ll take out twice as much because that’s how it works…life is generous, the sea will reward me for you.”

“You will never know how grateful I am, Mr. Juan. Today I felt so sad and I just came here to forget it, and then you gave me this gift…I am overwhelmed.”

“Then say no more, my mission of life has been fulfilled today,” he told me with a big smile. “I will only ask you to do the same when you run into someone sad, cheer the life and be generous to anyone who needs it.”

“I will, keep it for sure.”

We shook hands and I started walking back to the road.

“Come to visit whenever you want,” he called out. “I’m always around this beach.”

“I sure will.”

While pedaling back home I could not stop thinking about the kindness of that man, and those strangers who for a few hours shared with me without caring about my origin. Definitely, we must be attentive to those beings or generous souls that cross our path and give us a little faith in humanity.

--

--

Omar Santamaria
Lit Up
Writer for

Human, living an altered reality in a third world country. Writer aspirant in my middle age. Always a beginner. I’m also an iPhonographer.