Letting Go and Learning to Fly

Sheyla Ayn
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJun 4, 2019
by cocoparisienne on pixabay.com

Gripping tight to the point of pain;

Gripping tight to the point of exhaustion;

Gripping tight to the point of sorrow for things lost, and things never found;

Gripping tight to the point my soul empties because I simply can’t refill the cup;

Gripping tight until I have lost my sense of self, and was so friggin afraid to let go;

Gripping tight until I found the strength to question who I am, and why am I afraid;

Gripping tight until I remember I am worth more than this rope I am holding onto for dear life;

Gripping tight until one day I couldn’t stand it any longer and let go to ponder my destiny without care;

Gripping no longer to a rope that was strangling my soul, and found something truly amazing….

I am flying!

--

--

Sheyla Ayn
Lit Up
Writer for

I am a Word Warrior, Story Teller, Life Re-inventor, Archeologist of my Soul…Living in the Land of Hope, Dreams, & Possibilities; at: sheylaayn@gmail.com.