Lit Up: Meet our fantastic editor Pat Link, author of Yamashita’s Gold

Lit Up
Lit Up
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

5 min readSep 2, 2018

--

Wonderful Lit Uppers,

Our editor, Pat Link, has a new novel out!

Given this opportunity, here at Lit Up, we thought it’s a great time to introduce him to all of you wonderful readers and writers of Lit Up.

Yamashita’s Gold is a novel into which Pat has put a lot of his heart. It has been workshopped for months and it’s been edited by me. I highly recommend giving it a chance, it’s a wonderful read, worthy of your time.

But let’s find out more about Pat:

Tell us a little bit about you?

I am from the American Midwest. I’m married with two grown children. My day job has been in the automotive industry for over thirty years.

Yamashita’s Gold is my third novel. I also have several pieces of flash fiction and a few poems on Medium/Lit Up.

What are you working on now and what are your writing plans for the next couple of years?

My current WIP is a big switch from my first three novels. It’s much more similar to my work on Lit Up than my previous novels. I had the idea for a long time and I just felt like stretching my wings a bit.

Where do the ideas for your stories come from?

My first novel came from an event that happened to me in real life, many years ago. That’s what got me started writing. But what I like to do is look at things that actually happened, then think, “Yeah, but what if it went this way?”

What literary character are you most like and why?

I’d say Mr. Darcy because all women love me and can’t get enough of me. Kidding, of course. I’m not really sure, but my daughter has told me that she sees a lot of Gandalf in me. I guess because I’m old and I have a beard. No, actually she says it’s because I’m a good leader who doesn’t micromanage, but is willing to take one for the team.

Who is your favorite author?

I have been a huge fan of Tolkien since high school. I know he’s wordy and I know he can write about mountains and trees for pages and pages, and he could have benefited from a modern editor, but I don’t care — I love his stuff.

What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

It was called “Flight Deck” by Robb White, written in the late ‘60’s, it really affected me because I identified so well with the main character.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? (And was there a particular moment you thought, ‘I can do this!’?)

I did write some garsh-awful stuff when I was in high school, but no, I didn’t always want to be a writer. The moment that I thought “I can do this”, happened in a hotel room when I was reminded of an event that happened to me back in 1985 that was the inspiration for my first novel.

What promotions and marketing do you do for your book and which have you found most successful?

I’ve had success with the Amazon giveaways much more so than countdowns. I also created a Facebook page for Stitch. That’s was a unique thing and I think it’s pretty cool.

What has been the best compliment?

When my daughter told me that my writing is too good for the action/adventure genre (her undergrad degree is in English Lit).

Your latest novel has just been published — can you tell us a bit about it?

My latest novel is titled “Yamashita’s Gold” and it is an introduction story for my character David “Stitch” Hamilton.

It takes place in the Philippines where Stitch is helping a young girl to find her father and search for the legendary treasure that that was supposedly left there by the occupying Japanese forces during World War II.

Most writers have favourites among their stories, who is your favourite character and why?

Stitch has to be my favorite because he’s a never-give-up, never-back-down, All-American hero. He always knows what to do and he can kick just about anyone’s ass.

Can we peek at your novel?

Sure thing!

David “Stitch” Hamilton is an American Special Forces veteran, residing in Manila and making a living as a Muay Thai fighter. When a young woman’s father disappears searching for the legendary Japanese treasure rumored to be hidden in the Philippine jungles, Stitch agrees to help, only to discover that dark forces threaten much more than just her father.

Here’s an excerpt:

The room door was standing open. Stitch pulled up short and put his back to the wall in the hallway. He put a hand up to Erin to signal quiet. He crept in closer to the door. He leaned his head forward to peak in the doorway. He snapped his head back as a booted foot grazed his cheek. With another quick glance in the room, he lunged inside.

Sancho was bound and gagged, but his eyes were wide open. Three individuals were in the room with him. All three were masked. One held Sancho, the other two leapt at Stitch.

Stitch blocked a kick and returned with a kick himself. His assailant fell back and flipped over a chair. Another assailant came at Stitch from behind. Stitch turned, and with a roundhouse kick, knocked this second assailant to the floor.

The one who’d been knocked over the chair bounded back across it and threw a punch at Stitch. He blocked it with ease and countered with a jab to the face of the intruder.

He staggered back, but recovered quickly and renewed the attack. Stitch hit him two more times in quick succession. He shrieked in pain as blood dripped from under his mask.

The other assailant came at Stitch from behind and attempted a kidney punch. Stitch, with a lightning fast reflex dodged the blow, spun and delivered a one-two punch to his face. The attacker’s knees buckled and he dropped to the floor.

The one who was holding Sancho drew a nine-millimeter handgun. Sancho elbowed him hard in the ribs. He let out an “Oof” sound.

He turned the weapon on Sancho. In a blink, Stitch had the assailant’s arm and twisted it. Bones cracked. As his attacker screamed, the weapon fell to the floor. Stitch snatched it up and drew a bead on Nose Bleeder. “Enough!” he shouted as he chambered a round. “I don’t want to shoot anybody, but I damn sure will. Do you understand?”

The three intruders froze. Nose Bleeder shouted, “Rush him. He can’t shoot all three of us.”

One intruder bolted for the door and was gone. Stitch smiled. “So much for three of you.” Broken arm continued to scream. Stitch ignored him. “Erin, are you okay out there?”

If you enjoyed this interview, tap that clap button so more people can find it.

Do you have any other Lit Up authors you admire and would like to request a future interview? Comment under this post :)

Much love to all,

DiAmaya Dawn

--

--