Love in an Almost Place

Free Verse — It’s Complicated: Lit Up & TWC Contest

B.amba
Lit Up
2 min readMar 8, 2019

--

It was…

Image Source@http://www.jadejbroomfield.com/almost-love/

It’s so complicated I don’t even know how to tell it
I found love in an almost place
On my way to love itself
Outside of love, inside another love
You see, I told you it was complicated

He just moved here
But my own had been for 6 years now
Still it was as if he was 12 years to me
The perfectness was really wrong
For nothing wrong could be so right
From the words to the touch
The kiss and the tears, even the quarrels
Everything was wrong in a very right way
You see, I told you it was complicated

But he was in love, yes, he was
I asked him if he was, and he said he was
It was both me and her; and it was both he and her
It was both me and him
Still it was both he and him
You see, I told you it was complicated
I had found love in a very almost place
On my way to love itself,
Outside of love, inside of another love

But you have to be in love
When there are triplets and a wife
And you have to be in love
When there are invitation cards
And a white dress
Yes, you have to stay in love
Even if you have found love in an almost place
Because love is responsibility
And you already reached your destination

I have reached love, and I know it is love
Sealed and cemented in jewellery
But he is still a ring around my heart;
In every taste, every whiff, every sight
I found love, on my way to love itself
And though I am sorry I couldn’t stop for longer
I made sure to leave a part behind
And stay in love forever…
But with someone else

--

--