Love’s Labors Lost Or Love Regained?

Lit Up — November’s Prompt: 55er

Elle Fredine
Lit Up

--

Source

Four 55ers on Love and Heart-break

More sensed than seen at the corner of my eye;
Some shadow of my former self? Our flesh together
bends, melds, flows, folds in, conjoins. And then,
scarce heard, a whisper from the shadows
flutters at the edge of consciousness;
Your voice or mine? Love’s
labors lost or found
again? In journey’s
ending we
meet.

We
still go
together, yet apart;
Fades love then away?
What constancy is ours if
passion withers, fades at other’s glance?
How then sweet sighs in love’s embrace,
with love-slick, warm, entangled limbs, and love-bruised, rosy
mouth? Shall your mouth but lie, my love? How
shall you with me lie, our lover’s pledge now broke?

Who
then is
this other one
whose echo fills my
lonely bed? Now, ‘reft of
you, my heart beats not except
to…

--

--

Elle Fredine
Lit Up

West-Coaster, born and bred; Weekly Tales in fiction, dark/horror/fantasy, poetry, humor, feminism, writing, relationships, and love