Love’s Last Battlefield

Free Verse— It’s Complicated: Lit Up & The Writing Cooperative Contest

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Lit Up
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2019

--

Credit: Pixabay

Love of brother dies cruel death
And flies on wings of hopelessness
I see him down a block straight on
Pulls wagon blue with shuffling step
Prepared my lips to utter, “No”
For surely asking, will he heed?
My eyes avert when still far off.
Preparing to pass quickly by
Apology on readied lips
“No, not today,” but sorry said
An act no more a moment fills

And still he comes straight on and true
But doesn’t target there as some
With focused eye a readied stare
Intent on wringing from my waist
or pocket, purse, computer bag
Wherever coins or bills be found
Yes, bills, so often asked or begged
Insistence shown in measured steps
Behind, besides, to follow near
Intimidation’s clear demand
To wait until I wilt and give that
Which I never did intend

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
Lit Up

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank