Maybe

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2019
Photo by Andrew Spencer on Unsplash

Every sentence starts this way
in my life, there is nothing more
certain that I will find myself
at the end of a long binge with
a new idea, a true religion or vocation
the next steps and the ones after and
the ones after. Maybe

I’ve got a knack for storytelling
or problem solving, words or numbers or
this is just a story I’m telling. Maybe
I’m not myself today or last year but tomorrow
I’ll be singing on the street with my guitar
case open in front of me full
of meaning and money. Maybe

I’ll pay the rent with these words. Maybe
I’ll transcend rent with gumption and a converted van
always on the road or up in the air. Maybe
I’m anxious or depressed
rock climbing or doing yoga
finding newer different better drugs it seems
like everyone has an auto immune disease. Maybe

I’m getting up with the sun again
putting words down for the sake of it
tutoring in the evening and riding my bike a lot more
these days, something is sticking and I’m watching the sky turn gold
these days, running on and on past the breaks
a line strait to the horizon that says here is
what you find when you stop looking.

Maybe

--

--

Eric Sorensen
Lit Up
Writer for

Eric Ryan Sorensen as a flow chart: Student -> Engineer -> Panic Attack -> Existential Crisis (Ongoing) -> Creative Documentation