Metaphors

Free verse poetry

Umm Nala
Lit Up
1 min readMar 18, 2024

--

Photo by Pradeep Ranjan on Unsplash

We fell in words,
Captivated by the gravity of our deliberations
And the sweet nectar that is your voice
Building a home with decibels as blocks, metaphors as windows
We built a sanctuary from a thought
Relinquishing all other designs for the one our minds birthed

We fell in likeness,
Swayed by the forces of affinity
The familiarity of a kindred spirit
It must have been kismet that our paths crossed
That I was broken from you, after all, and nobody else
How I fit perfectly into the crevices of your bones
I belong to you, you are my temple

We fell in thought,
With you chiding my mind to keep going
To fish within its waters for the pearls that lie within
And you sat by the coast, basket in hand, ready to catch all that I threw your way
So I swam seamlessly in the sea, farther than I had ever reached
And my fins revved of energy
Like the thunderbolt that pierced your heart to mine
Perhaps this phenomenon called love could be mine

If you liked this poem, please feel free to clap as many times as you’d like. Medium allows you to clap up to 50 times.

Love,

Umm Nala

--

--

Umm Nala
Lit Up

A woman just trying to navigate through the waters of literature, love, life, Islam and how it all connects. Ps: Nala is my teddy bear, I don’t have a child.