O Sweet Love

Faizan Bashir
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readJan 29, 2019

O sweet love, O you who do not let me sleep at night,
By the display of your beauty, my chest is filled with unending rose gardens.
By your company, the honey bee became jealous of me,
For all her toil could not make her taste a nectar so sweet and intoxicating;
I was weary and remorseful of existence, but your single glance made a station of joy.
O You who filled me with desire, of the unending quest,
Tell me if such a grace befriends the lowly such as myself,
What shall be the robe of honor you bestow on the elect.
I know not who I am, but I know in your street every lost thing is found.
One day my soul by luck caught the fragrance of your skirt,
Since then it dances like a drunk lover, careless of the worries of today and morrow,
Careless of the want of bread it smiles like a blissful dawn.
One day when I sat down in solitude to contemplate my life,
I found everything to be a manifestation of You,
In that blessed hour, tears poured like rain in thanks,
I became like a child in mother’s lap,
Thousands of emotions that filled my chest spoke to you without words,
In that moment love smiled from behind the veil and spoke the mystery no ear could hear;
For the mysteries of love have a special lodging in the hearts of lovers.
All night long the stories of lovers adorn the moon and stars,
The blessed memory of that heart-ravishing beloved goes on without end,
The song of pure love sung by lovers blessing this firmament.
Do not ask me about the beloved of hearts,
I become more silent in praise and admiration.
Blessed is the silence that carriers Him as a secret,
What a blissful conversation between the lover and the beloved.

Faizan Bashir

--

--