Our Narcissistic Life

Ritu Chaudhry
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJul 17, 2018
personal collection

So when you kissed my toes, called me your goddess, harbinger of all that’s good in your life, made love to me gently and fiercely as justified for a goddess, I fell for it. Hook, line and sinker.

Believing each word you said and each move you made. Took it for reality, reciprocating likewise.

There were chinks in the narrative; I chose to brush them aside, it happens.

Our honeymoon with life continued regardless of life. Just you and me. The trick of ignoring worked beautifully.

Inhaling your breath was the ultimate high, kissing as if our lives depended on it.

We lived an eternity in those rapturous moments.

Little did we know, your fragile mind and ego couldn’t take any hits.

How I fell from the pedestal you had put me on. All broken, ruptured, scared, annihilated.

What replaced me was massive shame on our lives, a blow to our intelligence, passions, our very existence.

I now chose to rise again. No matter how tough the fight. Will grit my teeth to face you.

I am sure we’ll make equally worthy opponents. You’ll be proud of me, I don’t play to lose.

Amen.

--

--

Ritu Chaudhry
Lit Up
Writer for

all about collagen , gut health & weight loss