Out in the Sun

From under the Rocks

Jk Mansi
Lit Up
1 min readAug 4, 2018

--

From under the rocks, out into the Sun. Text by JkM photo by Seo-Young J. Chu

I crawled out from the rock
under which you hid my light
the light that you had lived in
claiming my reflection as your own.
My getting out upturned the rock.
The Sun hit me, eons of slime
slithered off my back
limbs grew and stretched,
eyes formed. I saw. I saw I was
not the slime covered nothing
I had been made to believe
I was. I wasn’t less-than-nothing.
I was everything I needed me to be.

I was everything!
I am everything today.

When the sun hits you
what will you find? If the Sun
hits you at all…I hope you can stand tall.

What secrets lie under the rocks. Text and photo by JkM

Thanks to DiAmaya Dawn at Lit Up.

©JkMansi Juhi Kalra 2018. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jk Mansi
Lit Up

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.