Painting Poems

You were never the man I painted — Free Verse

Fatima
Lit Up
1 min readMar 29, 2021

--

I used to paint sunflowers and sunsets
And write about breakups and heartache
Then one day, our fingers locked
And the only thing I could paint was
your face
Your arms tightly wrapped around my waist
Your fingers and my hair
Your eyes submerged in my glare
The sun melting beneath our bodies lost in admiration
On your spine, I traced the moon and 88 constellations
My skin gently tucked between your softly parted lips
Remember when I colored the entire universe on your fingertips
With subtle brush strokes
Sunset by sunset, I painted you into my life
Carved your name on my palms
Wrote our future together
Each morning, I decorated your walls with a new painting and
Your door with a new poem
I sang with raindrops and danced on rooftops
Until
I realized I was soaking wet and dancing alone
You will never love sunflowers and sunsets
And I will never be in your poems or paintings
So I stopped painting
Until I learn to paint
The center of the universe
Around
my
own
self

--

--