Passenger Seat

Lit Up — May’s Prompt: Nostalgia

poemloft
Lit Up
1 min readMay 13, 2018

--

Another day, another ride,
Without you sitting by my side
This empty seat next to mine
Feels harder to face every time,
No matter where I turn and drive
These memories catch up; they come alive,
I feel every mile taking its toll
Now I drive to free my soul.

I remember the days of thunder
Engine roars and smoking wheels of wonder,
Driving down winding country lanes,
Singing out songs playing on radio waves,
At that moment, I thought I had it all
Never realized I was speeding till we took the fall,
That moment, just you and the open road
Was all that I cared, loved and adored,
Now this empty passengers seat
Makes me miss you with every passing heartbeat.

Now everywhere this cursed wheel turns,
Places familiar, haunts and yearns,
I miss the side ward glances
And the backseat romances,
Your hand over mine
As we change lanes on the A9;
Now all of that’s over,
I’m just a broken chauffeur,
Driving aimlessly on a road,
Destination; still unknown…

--

--

poemloft
Lit Up

Wisdom never came from fools, but its wise to be foolish sometimes….