Portrait of Maurice

Joan A. Evans
Lit Up
Published in
5 min readOct 8, 2018

--

deviantart.com/art/Bertrand by Jerome Birti -575553950

How will I go on without you,
Maurice? My heart has been torn
from me today as I watched you
lowered into the ground, white lilies
and roses covering your silver
casket, my tears falling together
with the handful of earth I threw…
all of it just gone now… to lay there,
to be there with you… until the end
of the world. It wasn’t right
this was a beautiful morning,
with the sun lighting our Paris,
the city we loved so much. I wanted
icy rain, gray clouds and stinging
winds to fit the day I was forced
to put you in the ground. The
Minister read the prayers we
selected, slowly, mournfully, as
we asked him to do just for us.
His voice trembled. Our friends
were there at your graveside
saying their goodbyes. They held
white roses for you, placing
each gently on your casket.
Tears were shed. And yes,
you were right not to have a
church service. It would not
have been much like us.

--

--

Joan A. Evans
Lit Up

▪️ education: clinical psycologist, PhD. ▪️ vocation: writer, with the heart of a poet. ▪️ avocation: connoisseur of human folly. ▪️ philosophy: cats rule