Promises Of The Past

Lit Up — May’s Prompt: Nostalgia

T.S. Narkissa Luna
Lit Up
2 min readMay 16, 2018

--

That night, I miss it

It was the night you told me to dress,

That we’re going on an adventure

You took me in the truck,

with the music on full blast

You were happy and smiling,

singing off-key

Yours and mine,

hair flying everywhere,

You were singing a song,

close every time to an apology,

An apology to me because of the past.

*

I tried not to cry every time,

You drove so fast in the middle of the midnight highway

We were smelling the ocean breeze,

flowing through wide windows

You were so loud,

as if trying not to let the wind drown you out.

*

I’m still trying to remember those good nights

Those memories that have left my side

The past was inevitably the past

I was now no longer the girl you sing to

You were gone off to la la land

You forgot your daughter, dad.

*

I miss the past,

The hurtful and painful past

We aren’t there anymore

We are trapped in the cycle of pain and misery

The kind that reminded us all of our wrong doing

You left, dad, your first born,

The daughter you promised would be the only girl

That you promised wouldn’t leave like mom did, dad

You promised

Now I’m left with the past the remind me,

That the present as is, will be it.

--

--

T.S. Narkissa Luna
Lit Up

Poetess & Writer. Mother of the hidden moon. Healing with spilled ink and tears. A soul aged with the things of night. https://www.patreon.com/tsnarkissaluna