Rub to the Left, Rub to the Right

Marta Mozolewska
Lit Up
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2018
Photo by Rodrigo Reis (via free images)

Sunday 7 o’clock in the morning. The children are still sleeping, I can’t somehow. I’m going downstairs with my head full of fabulous visions. What will I manage to do before the monsters wake up and start their neverending marathon of demands, “Mummy! I’m hungry!”, “Mum, I’m thirsty!”, “I’m bored!” Let me think…coffee for sure, I may read one of those three books I’ve started and never had time to continue, or perhaps a beauty parlour? Manicure, pedicure, face mask?

I’m entering the living room and can’t believe my eyes: the windows on the northern side of the house all filthy along the length and breadth of them! And I cleaned them a week ago! Oh no! All my effort went down the drain only because there was a fierce storm at night and it rained in the wrong direction at a very wrong angle. Aha. Now I know how I’m going to spend this hour of complete peace and quiet: with a cloth in my hand, as I have to do it right away before the dew dries off for good.

All right, time to get started…Wow! A hot-air balloon up in the skies! My jaw’s dropping out of enchantment! I imagine those people up there! Beautiful light blue skies, chilly, fresh air. Oh God. What a phenomenal experience, extreme emotions, breath-taking views! Memories that are bound to stay with them for the rest of their life. Well, in fact, memories that may even change the lucky guys for the rest of their life!

Since someone once said that sometimes certain people, books, music, places or events totally alter one’s life perspective, open a window to show a completely different, unknown world. And I? I’m opening a window and…rub to the left, rub to the right on the glass…cleaning.

--

--

Marta Mozolewska
Lit Up
Writer for

translator, mother of two naughty kids, and writer in the meantime, marta.mozolewska333@gmail.com