Silver In the Sky

Brent Aaron
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJan 10, 2018

Last night I prayed for rain,
tonight I’ll do the same.
I wonder if He’s listening
but I just don’t know His ways.
The fields are gently weeping
yet no tears are there to cry.
They’re too busy watching
for that silver in the sky.

Jesse told his family
“Hey boys, it’s time to go.”
Forty years he broke this ground
so I guess he ought to know.
“Damn it all,” he whispers
as he softly waves goodbye.
Vaya con Dios,
find that silver in the sky.

Lord, I’m asking You
please understand.
Right now I could sure
use a helping hand.
I thank You for all
You’ve given me.
But in a week or two
they’ll all be memories.

Mama soothes the children
the only way she knows,
singing Jesus Loves Me
in a voice that tells them so.
And tonight we’ll all kneel down
in a circle by and by
and send another message
for some silver in the sky.

The day was all but done
when I saw that willow bend,
a tear on Bobby’s face,
followed by a grin.
I just hit my knees
and raised my voice up high,
“Thank You, Lord, now wash me
with Your silver in the sky.”

--

--