Synchronicity

A Parable in Geometry

Uṇṇi Nambia̅r
Lit Up
2 min readSep 15, 2023

--

As I settled my head, in sleep
Tunneling through deep time
I came upon my younger self
On that sultry monsoon night

The past and present, lives on
Slices of simple synchronicity
Somewhere within a universe
Unlived, a future waits for me

A mosquito infested midnight
The clock had struck at twelve
The weight of all those choices
Lived, crushing down my soul

Stranger in this stranger place
Trapped in a restless interlude
A beaten fork behind leads up
To a veiled fork that lay ahead

Look behind, lay past remorse
Ahead, a quick new beginning
Guilt, mingled in pain and loss
A universe that abandoned me

I heard a whisper near the gate
And dragging I, my tired bones
Searched for what, a lost child?
Crying on, “Daddy, I am ready.”

“She is the one, chosen mother”
Tiny waif, a shock of wavy hair
“She will be the One — Say yes”
“Please daddy I, I want to live.”

The weight of that future today
Tipped the scale to the present
A decision was made, a choice
Pulls towards a new beginning

How much does the future call
Upon a past, and every present
Is meant to be exactly what it is
Choices, we have already made

So here I lie, thirty years hence
From the starry night proposal
And the wavy waif, away in life
And ask my me, thirty years on

“Where are you? Are you there?”
Is that the whisper of my ashes?
Or a silence, of my content that
Says, “Tread bravely tomorrow”

© Unni Nambiar (Sept 11, 2023)

--

--

Uṇṇi Nambia̅r
Lit Up

“I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.” ― Mary Oliver