Talking to Sunken Cheeks

Deborah Kristina
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readJun 6, 2018
Photo Credit: Pinterest

“Have I lost my word? How come I don’t remember anything? I need inspiration! I need to move, move, MOVE to find it!” (Walking, walking, walk, walk)

Impatience is making a loud racket: BONG! RING! POP! CLICK!

I have these red cheeks.

I exhale grumpily.

The trees know my frustration;

they turn up their noses,

refusing to take my breath.

It’s like their way of saying,

“Pick at those brains with a chisel,

until you hear the scrapes grind,

until we see blood pouring

out of your ears.”

Sunken cheeks…

I can’t eat, can’t sleep,

until I spit the last few letters

to the page,

until I can finally see my own sunken

cheeks on the wrinkly paper.

Please feel free to take a look at my Patreon page: https://www.patreon.com/DeborahKristina

You can also email me: debbie.chow1987@gmail.com

Please also check out my new book on Amazon: “Ramblings of a Sixteen-Year-Old Girl to a Journal”

Thank you for reading. Peace.

--

--

Deborah Kristina
Lit Up

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)